Our County has a long rich history. Arthur Fort of Wilkinson County proposed a bill in the Georgia Legislature on November 14, 1809 to create Twiggs County. The new county would be separated from Wilkinson County at that time and named to honor Major General John Twiggs, a celebrated American Revolutionary soldier from Georgia. The bill passed and became law on December 14, 1809.
The first county seat was Marion, which coincidentally is the location of the exact geographic center of the State of Georgia. Geologists from the State Department of Natural Resources and the U.S. Geologic Survey located the State's center in a swampy area where two creeks (Turvin and Savage Creek) intersect and erected a bronze marker to identify the location. An historic marker in front of Old Marion Baptist Church, near the intersection of Bullard and Marion Ripley Road, is about 1.1 miles from this bronze marker for the "heart" of Georgia.
To find out more about the history of Twiggs County or to browse historic records, please visit the Twiggs County Geneology Project by clicking here.